National Flowers of the UK

Each member country of Great Britain has its own national flower. Here is a brief introduction to each:

England – the Rose

The rose has represented England since the 1400s when the Houses of York and Tudor battled for the English throne. York fought under the sign of the white rose, while Lancaster chose red. Following the unification of the throne, a new double rose incorporating red and white was adopted by the Tudor dynasty.

Wales – the Daffodil

A common sight across the Welsh valleys in the spring, the daffodil is an obvious choice for the national flower. The daffodil is worn on the 1st of March each year to celebrate St David’s Day, and is known as “Peter’s Leek” in the Welsh language.

Scotland – the Thistle

Although some residents prefer heather, the thistle is the official national emblem of Scotland. Legend has it that the spiky plant saved Scotland from being overrun by stealthy Viking invaders when the barefoot Norse warriors accidentally stood on the plant, their cries of pain alerting local Scots to their presence.

Northern Ireland – the Shamrock/Flax

Although the Shamrock is believed by many to be the national flower of Northern Ireland, the plant does not actually produce any flowers. Instead Flax is the official floral symbol, appearing as the emblem of the Northern Ireland Assembly at Stormont, the badge of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom and some one pound coins minted between 1986 and 1991.


If you love flowers and you love gardening, check out the Genus range of gardening clothes for keen gardeners on